Institute of Physics in Berlin-Adlershof - Urban Ecological Model Project

The Project

Within the framework of the Berlin Programme for Urban Ecological Model Projects commissioned by the Berlin Senate for Urban Development, a working team consisting of experts and scientists from the TU Berlin, the Humboldt University, and the University of Applied Sciences Neubrandenburg has scientifically monitored and evaluated the project.

This research is designed to draw up recommendations for an optimal and economical management of the building’s mechanical systems with an emphasis on an innovative and sustainable use of the resources water and energy as well as on the reduction of operating costs.

The project includes among other things an ongoing monitoring of the water consumption of different plant species of the façade greening system and of resultant evaporative cooling along with its effects on the overall energy consumption of the building. In this project, irrigation is controlled and monitored by an internet-assisted computer system. Temperature and radiation measurements assist in analysing economic and ecological effects of these systems. In addition to the monitoring, this model project is integrated into research projects designed to evaluate energy concepts for office buildings in the context of studies being done by the Institute for Building and Solar Technologies at the Technical University of Braunschweig.

The monitoring, evaluation, optimisation and documentation of project-related experience should provide basic conditions for the longterm implementation and further development of innovative and economic technologies. Practical results and user-oriented findings are worked out and documented for future projects to support their design, construction, operation and maintenance.

 

© 2012 Impressum

Institut für Physik in Berlin-Adlershof - ein stadtökologisches Modellvorhaben

Das Projekt

Im Auftrag der Senatsverwaltung für Stadtentwicklung erfolgt über das Landesprogramm "Stadtökologische Modellvorhaben" eine fachliche und wissenschaftliche Projektbegleitung durch eine Arbeitsgemeinschaft der Technischen Universität Berlin, der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und der Hochschule Neubrandenburg.

Zielsetzung ist die Erarbeitung von Empfehlungen zur Optimierung und wirtschaftlichen Nutzung der Anlagen mit dem Schwerpunkt eines innovativen nachhaltigen Umgangs mit den Ressourcen Wasser und Energie und der Reduzierung von Betriebskosten.

Das Projekt umfasst unter anderem ein kontinuierliches Monitoring des Wasserverbrauchs von verschiedenen Pflanzenarten der Fassadenbegrünung und der erzeugten Verdunstungskälte mit ihren Wirkungen auf die Energiebilanz des Gebäudes. Die Bewässerung wird von einem internetgestützten Computersystem gesteuert und überwacht. Temperatur- und Strahlungsmessungen ergänzen die Analyse der ökonomischen und ökologischen Effekte der durchgeführten Maßnahmen. In Ergänzung zur Begleitung im Rahmen des Modellvorhabens erfolgt eine Teilnahme an den Forschungsprojekten zur Evaluierung von Energiekonzepten für Bürogebäude im Rahmen der Forschungsarbeit des Instituts für Gebäude- und Solartechnik der TU Braunschweig.

Die Begleitung, Auswertung, Optimierung und Dokumentation der Projekterfahrungen soll die Voraussetzung zur langfristigen Umsetzung und Weiterentwicklung innovativer und wirtschaftlicher Technologien schaffen. Für zukünftige Projekte werden praxisrelevante und anwendungsorientierte Erkenntnisse als Arbeitshilfe für Planung, Bau, Betrieb und Wartung erarbeitet und dokumentiert.

© 2012 Impressum